18 years old
California Medical Marijuana Laws
Both recreational and medical marijuana are legal in California. The recreational law, which was passed in November of 2016, made it legal for the purchase and use of recreational marijuana by anyone over the age of 21 and authorized those who had a state-issued license in the state of California to sell marijuana. This law negated much of the usefulness of the Compassionate Care Act, which was passed in 1996 and legalized medical marijuana for those who had state-issued medical marijuana cards. Many of those who needed a card prior to 2016 no longer needed to possess them and found it easier to fulfill their medical needs through the recreational market.
There are, however, still some benefits to having a card. For example, those with medical marijuana id cards (also known as MMIC), are exempt from sales tax when purchasing their medical marijuana from a licensed dispensary. For patients who use high CBD/low-THC strains for marijuana to treat a chronic medical condition, getting marijuana from a medical dispensary may be easier as these types of strains are often more readily available than they would be at recreational dispensaries. Having an MMIC also protects patients and their caregivers from arrest for purchasing or possessing marijuana.
Requirements to Get a Medical Marijuana Card in California
To qualify for an MMIC, you must have one of the qualifying conditions or another persistent medical symptom that interferes with major life activities. As for the medical marijuana age requirements in California, if you are a resident of the state and over 18 years of age, you can apply for an MMIC if you have a letter of recommendation from a licensed physician. If you are over 21 and taking care of a minor or someone who is unable to purchase medical marijuana on their own, you can apply for an MMIC as a caregiver with a physician recommendation and be able to buy products for the person or persons you care for.
Medical Marijuana Possession and Purchase Limits in CA
Though marijuana is legal, there are still penalties related to possessing too much of it or intending to distribute it. Those who are under 18 or who possess up to 28.5 grams on school grounds face misdemeanor charges, up to 10 days in jail, and up to $250 in fines. Possessing more than 28.5 grams can result in six months in jail and $500 in fines. Selling marijuana to those under 18 year of age is a felony and punishable by up to seven years in jail.
Getting a California Medical Cannabis Card Online
The first step to getting a California MMIC card is to get the recommendation of a licensed physician. You can do this in person or through a company that offers a telehealth platform like MDBerry. With this technology, you can speak to a physician online without visiting the clinic. The doctor will gather information about your health history, learn more about your current symptoms, and determine if medical marijuana is right for you. If it’s recommended, a letter will be issued that you can use to apply for an MMIC at the health department in the county in which you live. When you arrive for your appointment, you should have with you the doctor’s recommendation, government-issued photo ID, a photo taken at the county’s program office, and proof of residency in the form of a bank statement, utility bill, or mortgage agreement.