18 years old and older
Is Medical Marijuana Legal in Florida?
In November 2016, Florida residents voted for the legalization of marijuana for medical use. This was not only a relief to potential users but also a significant change in perception towards marijuana in the south. Since its legalization, hundreds of thousands of Florida residents have applied for a medical marijuana card.
Early in 2014, the Florida Legislature had debated and approved the Compassionate Medical Cannabis Act, which allowed patients with severe conditions such as epilepsy and cancer to use low-THC cannabis. Following the passage of this legislation, the Florida Department of Health created the Office of Compassionate Use (OCU) to execute the medical marijuana program.
Reach changes were realized when more than 70% of Florida voters voted in favor of Amendment 2 or the Florida Medical Marijuana Legalization Initiative. The amendment allowed for the broader use of medical marijuana by expanding the list of qualifying conditions. Amendment 2 also paved the way for the establishment of Medical Marijuana Treatment Centers (MMTC) and the transfer of the state’s marijuana program to the Office of Medical Marijuana Use (OMMU).
Recreational use of marijuana is still not allowed in the state. For this reason, it is punishable by law.
Qualifying Condition for Medical Marijuana in Florida
According to Amendment 2, qualifying patients can apply for a medical marijuana card.
- Qualifying Medical Conditions
The recent updates allow Florida Medical Marijuana Doctors to approve patients for medical marijuana use if they are suffering from any of these conditions:
- Crohn’s Disease
- Parkinson’s Disease
- Multiple Sclerosis
Besides this, Amendment 2 allows you to apply for an MMJ card if you are diagnosed with other debilitating of the same class or kind, including:
- Hepatitis C
- Muscle Spasms
- Lyme Disease
- Sickle Cell Anemia
- Severe Pain
- Irritable Bowel Syndrome
- Muscular Dystrophy
- Chronic Nausea
- Other medical conditions that trigger traumatic stress
- Residency Requirements
You will also need proof of residency. If you are a Florida resident, you can use your driver’s license, state ID, or passport. The proof of residency should match the address on your state ID. If you are a seasonal Florida resident, carry your lease or deed, plus any other documents that prove your residency, such as a financial statement, utility bill statement, or a document for a government agency.
- Age Requirements
In addition to the above medical and residency requirements, you must also be at least 18 years to apply for a card. If you are under 18 years old, your caregiver or parents can register on your behalf as long as you have one of the qualifying medical conditions. A licensed medical professional should certify that you can use medical marijuana or a cannabis delivery device. To quicken the process, you can bring along your medical records, but we can still help you without them.
- Restrictions and Exceptions
While medical cannabis is legal in Florida, there are some other restrictions on how you can use it even if you are a qualifying patient. According to Senate Bill 8A, the administration or use of medical marijuana is restricted in the following places:
- Any public place
- On public transportation
- On a school bus
- In an aircraft
- At the workplace (unless it is allowed by the employer)
- At an in-state correctional facility
Remember that the state is very strict about the illegal use of the drug. In any case, marijuana is still a controlled substance by the federal authorities. So, if you do not have an MMJ card and are found in possession of medical marijuana, you will be punished. Likewise, if you purchase medical cannabis from an unlicensed supplier in the state, the authorities will still treat it as a punishable crime.
How to Get an MMJ Card in Florida
If you meet the above conditions, you can visit us for a medical assessment. The process is simple:
- Schedule an appointment with one of our licensed physicians. According to Amendment 2, only a licensed medical doctor can diagnose and certify a patent for medical marijuana use. For easier approval, bring your Florida State ID and latest medical record to your appointment.
- Meet any two specified conditions, and you will be qualified as an MMJ patient. In this case, you have to be diagnosed with a qualifying medical condition by an approved physician and be a seasonal or full-time resident of Florida.
- Fill in your application form for a Medical Marijuana Patient Card. Once you applied for the card, we will forward your details to the Florida Department of Health. Note that your caregiver can apply on your behalf.
- To apply for an MMJ card, you will need to pay $75 to the Department of Health. For online applications, you can use a credit or debit card. You can also send your applications via mail, but keep in mind that the application may take longer to process.
- You will get an email with your login details for Florida Medical Marijuana Use Registry (MMUR). But until you receive your card in the mail, you can use your state IR or Florida driver’s license to buy medical marijuana drugs. Typically, card processing may take about 1 – 2 weeks.
The Cost of a Medical Marijuana Card
A typical medical cannabis examination can cost $200 to $300. This cost usually covers the initial tests. You will also need to pay separately for the medical marijuana card application, which costs $75.
MMJ cardholders should purchase medical cannabis from licensed MMTC. And you can purchase up to a 35-day supply of smokable weed. As for edibles and other forms, you can purchase a 70-day supply.