Different states have different laws governing the production, transportation, consumption, sale, and packaging of marijuana. As a result, users find it challenging to keep up with all the laws and regulations. Luckily, Maine’s standpoint is clear when it comes to the use of marijuana.
Consume medical marijuana legally in Maine. Click the button below to get your medical marijuana card.
Read on to find out if marijuana is legal in Maine.
Yes! In November 2016, Maine voters approved the recreational, medical, and adult-use of marijuana for adults 21 and older. The Maine Legalization Act allows both medical and recreational marijuana dispensaries to open for business.
It is also worth noting that although adult-use of marijuana became legal in 2016, regulations regarding its commercial sales were not operational until 2019 after the signing of LD 719 to approve the ruleset.
According to the Maine Marijuana Laws, only 21 years and older residents can legally use marijuana. They also have to possess a valid government-issued ID. Maine Edible Laws state that users can only have 70g (2.5 ounces) of marijuana or a combination of marijuana and a concentrate at a time. The combination cannot have more than 5g of concentrate. Maine medical marijuana patients also have a limit of 2.5 ounces.
Furthermore, users can lawfully cultivate and possess up to twelve marijuana immature plants, three mature plants, and unlimited marijuana seedlings. The plants need to have a tag with the cultivator’s name, ID number or driving license, and the property owner’s name if the plants are not on land owned by the cultivator.
When it comes to consumption, it is illegal in Maine to consume marijuana on federal or public land. Recreational marijuana can only be consumed on private property, away from public view. Users who are found guilty of consuming marijuana in public are guilty of a civil violation, subject to a fine of up to $100.
What are the Maine Dispensary Laws?
In relation to Maine Retail and Dispensary Establishment Laws, marijuana businesses can only run-in municipalities where they have enacted an ordinance that allows that type of marijuana business. Such businesses cannot operate in plantations, towns, or unincorporated areas unless the county or town commissioners allow that type of business.
Similarly, marijuana businesses cannot be within 1000 feet of a pre-existing school unless the municipality has elected to enact a smaller buffer zone, which should be a minimum of 500 feet. Before selling marijuana to customers, the law requires vendors to check the buyer’s ID before making the sale.
Maine recreational dispensary menu consists of a variety of products. They include marijuana itself, marijuana products, marijuana paraphernalia, seedling, and immature marijuana plants, as well as non-marijuana items, like clothes. The price of these products has a 10% sales tax included.
Alternatively, Maine marijuana retailers cannot sell their products to visibly intoxicated persons or give away adult-use marijuana plants or products. They are also not allowed to give away or sell mature marijuana plants or products with alcohol and tobacco that do not have marijuana. It is also illegal to sell an amount of marijuana that exceeds the user’s limit.
Furthermore, retailers cannot sell medical marijuana and adult-use marijuana in the same store. Similarly, such stores cannot use a vending machine, delivery service, an internet-based sales platform, or a drive-through window. Potential Maine marijuana retailers should also familiarize themselves with the packaging and labeling requirements of a marijuana store and its marketing and advertisement restrictions.
Buy medical marijuana online in Maine without hassles. Click the button below to get your medical marijuana card.
The Department of Administrative and Financial Services in Maine is responsible for regulating and licensing all marijuana establishments, including marijuana retail stores. It consults with the Department of Public Safety on any rules related to law enforcement and public safety matters.
Persons interested in applying for marijuana retail store licenses must fulfill specific criteria. They include:
- They must be Maine residents and at least 21 years of age.
- Have no prior drug offense convictions that carry a maximum of one-year penalty or more unless the person completed the entire sentence ten years before the legalization of the marijuana-related offense.
- Not a state agency employee with a regulatory role.
- Does not owe any outstanding court-ordered payments.
- Incorporation of the business entity in Maine.
- Must not be a correction or three-step law enforcement, officer.
Maine Caregivers Laws 2020
According to the Maine marijuana laws, medical marijuana patients can designate one primary caregiver to help them cultivate and use medical marijuana. The caregiver should be 21 years and older and should not have a drug offense conviction.
Caregivers who are not related to the patient must undergo state registration to receive a government-issued ID card before they can cultivate or possess marijuana.
Under special circumstances, a patient can appoint another primary caregiver. Such circumstances include:
- If he/she is a minor, the first choice of primary caregiver is the patient’s guardian or parent,
- If he/she is a disabled person, the first choice of primary caregiver is a power of attorney for healthcare or the patient’s legal guardian,
- If he/she is in a nursing facility or hospice as a registered patient.
Caregivers can only possess up to six plants and 2.5 ounces in a locked and bordered facility for each patient the caregiver offer services. Such caregivers cannot assist more than five patients and six plants per patient. Additionally, cultivating caregivers pay an annual fee of $300 per patient and an additional $31 for a thorough criminal background check.
Qualifying Conditions for Medical Marijuana in Maine
In Maine, there is no list of qualifying conditions for medical marijuana applicants. Qualifying patients must obtain authorization from a medical practitioner for any condition that the professional beliefs may be reduced by marijuana.
The Maine Medical Marijuana program only requires patients to buy an authorization certificate and state-issued ID cards from a Maine dispensary. Likewise, patients can register to acquire the Maine Medical Marijuana Card if they opt to do so.
Medical marijuana can be used to treat various diseases. Click the button below to get your medical marijuana card.
Finding Maine medical marijuana licensed health providers can be a challenging process. At MDBerry, we have experienced and certified physicians in medical marijuana ready to cater to your needs. Contact us to receive any medical marijuana treatment from certified MMJ doctors or click the banner below to book your appointment.