18 years old and older
Is Marijuana Legal in Maine?
Maine patients with a valid ID can legally possess up to 2.5 ounces of medical cannabis. They can also cultivate up to 30 flowering cannabis plants and 60 non-flowering cannabis plants. For those who are not Maine residents, they will be able to purchase medical cannabis if they have a registration card from a different state and apply for an MMMP registry identification card.
Recreational marijuana is also now legal in Maine and licensed dispensaries will start selling it in 2020. You do not need a medical marijuana card to buy recreational marijuana, but you must be at least 21 years old and will pay more tax on recreational marijuana than you would on medical marijuana. Besides, all state-level criminal penalties for cultivation, possession, and use of medical marijuana have been removed from state law if the person who uses, cultivates, or possesses the cannabis has a valid ID.
Medical Marijuana Rules and Requirements
To get a medical cannabis card, patients must be at least 18 years of age and be a resident of Maine. They must also have a medical condition that a licensed doctor deems is treatable by medical cannabis. There is no longer a list of conditions that qualify for medical cannabis treatment and it is up to the discretion of the physician to decide if they qualify.
Those who are under 18 years of age and who have a medical condition treatable with cannabis can designate a caregiver who is at least 21 years of age to buy medical marijuana for them. The patient must sign a form so the caregiver can submit an application for a registration card with the state. These caregivers must register with the state and get an ID card before they can buy or cultivate cannabis for their patient. The designated caregiver must not have been convicted of a drug offense to qualify. In some cases, a patient can also designate a second caregiver.
Get a Medical Marijuana Card Online
To get a medical marijuana card in Maine, you must get a recommendation by a licensed physician. You can do this in person or via a telehealth platform like the one used at MDBerry. During your consultation, the physician will ask questions about your condition and medical background and determine if medical cannabis is a good treatment option for you. If so, he or she will issue a recommendation that you can use to register with the state and get an ID card. There is no charge for the card. Caregivers must have a form filled out by the patient and will pay $31 to cover a background check. If the caregiver plans to cultivate marijuana for their patient, there will be an additional charge of $300. The card is good for one year and can be used to purchase medical marijuana at any licensed dispensary in the state.