Medical marijuana and recreational marijuana are both legal in the state of Maine. While medical dispensaries have been open since 2011, the first recreational dispensary is slated to start selling to the general public at the beginning of 2020. Though anyone over the age of 21 can buy recreational marijuana, there are some advantages for those who qualify for medical marijuana including a lower tax rate and the ability to buy marijuana for those who are 18-20 or who are caregivers for those who cannot buy cannabis for themselves.
How to Get Medical Marijuana in Maine
To get medical marijuana in the state of Maine, you must have an ID card. You can apply for an ID card if you are at least 18 years of age and a resident of the state. Those who are not residents can apply for an ID card if they have a valid medical marijuana ID card from the state where they are a resident. An ID card is valid for one year and allows you to legally purchase medical marijuana from any licensed dispensary in the state. Caregivers who are at least 21 years of age and have no drug offenses on their record can buy marijuana for minors or others in their care.
Maine Medical Marijuana Qualifying Conditions
Qualifying conditions for an MMJ card in Maine have been removed from the law. Physicians now have the discretion to recommend medical marijuana for any condition they believe is appropriate and treatable with cannabis.