18 years old and older
Missouri Marijuana Laws
With a valid ID card, Missouri patients and their registered caregivers can purchase up to four ounces of marijuana within a 30-day timeframe from any licensed dispensary in the state. Those who do not have a valid ID card face legal repercussions.
Patients and caregivers with valid Missouri ID cards can buy up to four ounces of marijuana within a 30-day period for themselves or for each person they care for. Medical marijuana patients in Missouri can also grow up to six mature cannabis plants.
Missouri Medical Marijuana Requirements
To qualify for a medical marijuana card in Missouri, patients must be at least 18 years of age and residents of the state. They must also have a condition that a doctor deems legally treatable with marijuana. In Missouri, state-licensed physicians can recommend marijuana for the one of the qualifying conditions. They may also recommend medical cannabis for any other condition they believe can be treated effectively with marijuana.
Missouri law allows for patients who are under 18 years of age or who cannot purchase medical cannabis on their own to appoint a caregiver who can purchase or grow cannabis for them. Caregivers must be at least 21 years old, registered with the Department of Health, and can be the designated caregiver for no more than three patients.
How Much Marijuana Is a Felony in Missouri?
Those who are caught with up to ten grams of cannabis could be fined up to $500 for a first offense and those who have more than ten grams or who have already offended could face up to $2,000 in fines and up to one year in prison. Those caught with 35 grams or more face felony charges that could result in seven years in prison and $10,000 in fines. Minors under 21 who are caught with marijuana without an ID card could lose their driver’s licenses.
How to Get a Medical Marijuana Card Online
Those 18 and over who wish to get a medical cannabis card must first schedule an appointment with a state-licensed cannabis physician. They can do this in person or via a telehealth platform such as that offered at MDBerry. During the appointment, the physician will ask questions about their condition, their prior attempts at treating their condition, and their general health history. If it’s determined that medical cannabis is a viable treatment option, a recommendation will be issued.
With a recommendation, patients can then apply with the Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services for an ID card. The cost is $25 for a qualifying patient card or primary caregiver card and $100 for a patient cultivation card. Once approved, the card should come in the mail within 30 days, is valid for one year, and can be used to purchase cannabis at any licensed dispensary in the state.