18 years old and older
New York Medical Marijuana Laws
Marijuana became available for medical purposes in the state of New York when the Governor Andrew Cuomo signed the Compassionate Care Act. Since then, the state issued a set of rules and requirements that allow patients to qualify for using medical cannabis. Find out more info on marijuana state laws in our guide.
New York Medical Cannabis Requirements
Medical marijuana is legal in the state of New York for those who are 18 or older, a resident, and in possession of a medical marijuana card issued by the state Department of Health. Caregivers can purchase medical marijuana for those in their care if they are 21 or over, a resident, and in possession of a card. You must also suffer from one of the medical conditions. Those approved to purchase medical marijuana can only do so from a registered dispensary in New York state and cannot use their marijuana in a public place.
Parents or caregivers may also be able to purchase medical marijuana for their child or someone in their care if they are 21 years or older and receive a medical marijuana card on behalf of the patient they are caring for. They may only buy a 30-day supply of medical marijuana at a time.
Restrictions and Penalties
Purchasing marijuana for recreational use, purchasing without a medical marijuana card, or purchasing anywhere but at a licensed dispensary is illegal in the state of New York. Purchasing less than 25 grams illegally is a misdemeanor and can lead to a $500 fine and three months in jail while buying more than 25 grams is considered a felony and is punishable by three to seven years in prison and fines ranging from $5,000 to $15,000.
How to Get a Medical Marijuana Card in NY
If you have a physical or mental/emotional disorder listed on this page, are 18 or older, and a resident of New York, you can apply for an mmj card. First you must talk to a physician who is registered with the state either in person or via a telehealth program such as the one offered at MDBerry. During your meeting, the physician will confirm your medical condition and find out more about your past treatment attempts. If the physician approves you, a certification will be used that you can then use to register online with the New York Department of Health. After paying a $50 fee, a card will be mailed to you that you can use to buy medical marijuana legally from a New York registered dispensary for one year.