18 years old and older
Is Medical Marijuana Legal in Oklahoma?
Medical marijuana is legal in Oklahoma for those who possess a state-issued mmj card. Those with a card may possess up to eight ounces of medical marijuana in their homes, up to one ounce of concentrated marijuana, up to six marijuana plants, up to 72 ounces of edible marijuana, and up to three ounces of marijuana on their person. Those who do not have an mmj card and have 1.5 ounces or less of cannabis may face a misdemeanor charge and a fine.
Oklahoma Medical Cannabis Requirements
To qualify for a medical cannabis card, you must be at least 18 years old and a resident of Oklahoma or, if you are not a resident, possess a medical cannabis card from another state. Those who are under 18 can have a caregiver purchase medical marijuana for them if that caregiver possesses a medical marijuana card. You must also have a health condition that a licensed physician determines can be successfully treated with cannabis. Though there is no list of specific conditions that qualify under Oklahoma state law, there are common conditions that can be treated with medical marijuana.
Marijuana in Oklahoma can only be sold at licensed dispensaries and only to those 18 years or older and who have a medical marijuana card. Those who cannot purchase their own marijuana due to being underage or having a health condition that prevents them from purchasing it can designate a caregiver to buy medical marijuana for them. Their caregiver must apply for and receive a medical cannabis card before they can purchase marijuana for the person they are caring for.
Getting a Medical Marijuana Card in Oklahoma
The first step in getting a medical cannabis card in Oklahoma is to see a licensed physician. Your first appointment with the physician must be in person, but after that, you can use a telehealth platform like that offered at MDBerry for subsequent appointments. During your appointments, the physician will find out more about your medical condition and past health history to determine if medical cannabis is a good treatment option. If so, they will fill out a recommendation form. If you are a caregiver for a minor, you need a second opinion and recommendation before you can apply for a card.
Once you have a recommendation, gather this along with proof of Oklahoma residency and your identity along with a full-color, full-face photo for your ID. You can submit your application through the OMMA application portal. Your application must be within 30 days of your physician recommendation. Caregivers of minors can wait 30 days between the first and second recommendations, then an additional 30 days after the second recommendation before they apply. The fee for applying is $100, though those with Medicare can qualify for a rate reduction to $20.