How to Get Medical Marijuana in Rhode Island

Slide background

Are you a resident of Rhode Island and suffer from a chronic illness or conditions such as glaucoma, cancer, hepatitis C, or a condition that causes seizures, agitation, or severe nausea? If so, you may be able to qualify for the use of medical marijuana under the state’s Medical Marijuana Act. Certain qualifying medical conditions now allow patients in Rhode Island to legally purchase marijuana from dispensaries that are licensed through the state if those patients have valid MMJ ID cards. 

It has been proven that the prescription medications used to treat a variety of physical and mental health conditions can be addictive or lead to dangerous side effects. Medical marijuana can prove to be a useful alternative to these drugs that poses no risk of addiction and can actually have beneficial side effects such as stress relief and improved sleep. 

The requirements for getting a medical marijuana card in Rhode Island are simple and straightforward. This is the information you need to know on the state regulations and laws so you can apply for and receive a medical marijuana card.

Doctors

Talk to our licensed specialists

How much does a medical marijuana card cost?

  • New Patient
  • $189
  • Initial patient evaluation and paperwork submission
  • Renewals
  • $139
  • Confirmation that the patient is still eligible for a medical marijuana card

*In Rhode Island, a medical weed card costs $100 to register. Remember that this is an additional fee that isn’t included in the services we provide.

Is Medical Marijuana Legal in Rhode Island?

Recreational marijuana is still illegal in Rhode Island, but medical marijuana is now legal for those who have a state-issued mmj card. Those with a card may purchase it from a licensed dispensary in the state in amounts up to two and a half ounces and may cultivate up to 12 plants and 12 seedlings in their homes. 

Medical Cannabis Requirements

To qualify for marijuana use, patients must have one of the qualifying conditions. If you are at least 18 years old and are a resident of Rhode Island with a valid driver’s license or state ID card, you may be able to purchase marijuana to treat your chronic condition. The limit you can purchase or possess at one time is 2.5 ounces. Those who are under 18 years old or who cannot purchase medical marijuana on their own due to a disability or other issue can designate a caregiver who is 21 years or older to purchase their marijuana for them. This caregiver must get a card to legally purchase medical marijuana. A primary caregiver may only assist five or fewer patients with their medical marijuana needs.

Requirements

Age

18 years old and older

Residents

Rhode Island only

Qualifying for Medical Marijuana Card in Rhode Island

If you meet all the requirements for medical marijuana in the state of Rhode Island, you must get an mmj card before you can legally purchase it. To do this, first speak with an approved physician either in person or via a telehealth platform such as that offered at MDBerry. Our physician will find out more about your health history and medical condition to determine if marijuana is a good treatment option for you. If they do believe it is a valid treatment, they will issue a recommendation letter. 

You can then register with the state as a medical marijuana patient, pay for your card, and use it to purchase marijuana at any licensed dispensary in Rhode Island. Your card is good for one year. After this year, you must renew your card by contacting a physician to review your health history and ensure medical marijuana is still right for you.

Why Choose MDBerry

The physicians who work for MDBerry are all approved by the state of Rhode Island and can assist you with all your medical marijuana card needs. We are familiar with the laws and regulations of the state and can walk you through the steps via their convenient telehealth platform. When you get your medical marijuana card through MDBerry, you don’t even need to leave the comfort of your own home to apply. You can speak with a physician 24/7 and, upon approval, receive your medical marijuana card quickly in the mail.

10 CTA

MDBerry always has your safety and health in mind. We are HIPAA and ASA compliant, do not charge you if you aren’t approved for any reason, and offer a best price guarantee. We pride ourselves on excellent customer service and always stay up to date on the newest changes to the law in regards to medical marijuana. If you want to explore the possibility of treating your chronic condition with medical marijuana, get in touch with our approved physicians today to find out if cannabis is a good option for your unique needs.

Recent Articles